Here goes…

Just over a year ago I packed up my share-housing ways and bought a little two bedroom weatherboard house in Bacchus Marsh. From Brunswick to Bacchus Marsh in what now feels like 5.2 seconds. Because when I think back on it now, it really did happen very quickly.

I had been saving money while working but wasnt sure what I was saving for.

You see, I’m that cliche of a girl who has travelled and worked all through her 20’s, and then one day realised that with this latest bout of saving, that I wasnt saving for Europe or Asia or Africa. I was saving for something else. I was saving for somewhere to plonk my roots, get some space for my canine companion, have a veggie patch and maybe even get some chooks.

Canine companions don't get much cuter than this girl.

Canine companions don’t get much cuter than this girl.

Now, I come from a family of gardeners. My Grandpa, who I never really knew, was famous for his tomatoes (and his temper), and my brother has turned my parents average suburban block into a thriving vegetable garden. I always thought though that that gene had skipped me. I was interested in it for sure, but I never thought I could do it.

But this girl LOVES to cook and eat. I always have. I’m one of the only girls who did Home Economics (cooking) right up until year 12. Yup thats right. I love food so much that I sat an exam on it.

And anyone who loves food enough to sit a year 12 exam on the topic eventually gets to the point where they wonder about the quality of the fruit and veg they cook with and where it comes from.

Did I also mention that I love free shit? Found this mulberry tree at my local park recently so these fresh babies went into a yummo bircher museli

Did I also mention that I love free shit? Found this mulberry tree at my local park recently so these fresh babies went into a yummo bircher museli

This is how I came to start growing some of my own food and cooking with it.

And im not perfect. Not everything I make will be entirely from what I have grown myself. Sometimes its just one or two ingrediants. But I think there are a lot of blogs out there that can make you feel a bit guilty for not doing more. My philiosphy is that you have to start somewhere, and start with something you can build from.

I dont care if its just your own chook eggs, or just your own herbs. Ultimately these small steps will bring you immense satisfaction, and your food will taste better for it!

Finally, I started this blog as part of a November writing challenge. And because I think my friends are finally sick of seeing me post photos of food I’ve cooked or veg I’ve grown on Facebook. Also because im susceptible to wasting A LOT of time watching TV and trawling aimlessly through Instagram and Twitter and thought this was a better use of my time.

So here it is. I dont have anything new to say except here is some food I’ve grown, found or swapped. And heres what I cooked with it. Hope this inspires you to do something similar.

Categories: Uncategorized

Tagged as: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Emma's Garden Grows

GROW, FIND, SWAP, SHARE, EAT.

Simple Provisions

Food does not need to be fancy to be celebrated

Grow, Find, Swap, Cook, Share, EAT!

C l e - a n n

Grow, Find, Swap, Cook, Share, EAT!

Sharing Abundance

Just another WordPress.com site

GourmetGirlfriend

Grow, Find, Swap, Cook, Share, EAT!

Foxs Lane

Grow, Find, Swap, Cook, Share, EAT!

The Greening of Gavin

Sustainable Living in the Suburbs

New Here

Grow, Find, Swap, Cook, Share, EAT!

Feral Fruit Trees Melbourne

Just another WordPress.com weblog

cityhippyfarmgirl

simple connected living, city style

italy on my mind

"in food there are memories"

Emma's Garden Grows

GROW, FIND, SWAP, SHARE, EAT.

Simple Provisions

Food does not need to be fancy to be celebrated

Grow, Find, Swap, Cook, Share, EAT!

C l e - a n n

Grow, Find, Swap, Cook, Share, EAT!

Sharing Abundance

Just another WordPress.com site

GourmetGirlfriend

Grow, Find, Swap, Cook, Share, EAT!

Foxs Lane

Grow, Find, Swap, Cook, Share, EAT!

The Greening of Gavin

Sustainable Living in the Suburbs

New Here

Grow, Find, Swap, Cook, Share, EAT!

Feral Fruit Trees Melbourne

Just another WordPress.com weblog

cityhippyfarmgirl

simple connected living, city style

italy on my mind

"in food there are memories"

