Capsicums and Peppers

peppers
Well, well, well. Let me tell you a little secret: My capsicum plant failed rather spectacularly this year. And for what I suspect to be a very dumb reason on my part: I didnt plant it in full sun, rather only part-shade.

Doh!

Anyway, shes got 5 or 6 peppers on her but they havent grown very big and neither has the plant. Oh well. I’ll know for next year.

That said, peppers and capsicums are still in season (just). So I got some sweet peppers from the Queen Vic Market the other day for my vegetarian friend who is coming over for a BBQ this weekend. I thought i’d make her some quinoa stuffed peppers so she still has something sexy to eat while we meat-eaters are all tucking into these gorgeous gourmet lamb snags I bought.

So in true Emma’s Garden Grows style, I decided to recipe test these stuffed peppers the day before to make sure they taste good. And if you follow me on Instagram you might ge an inkling for where this story is going…

The “sweet” peppers weren’t so sweet. In fact I dare say the were some of the hottest peppers I have ever bought. And I tested this theory by rubbing my lips and nose accidently after I had cut them.

Oh golly. I was in some serious pain. I now know that I NEVER want to get sprayed by a cop with capsicum spray. No. Thank. You!

In a nutshell, the quinoa was great but the peppers were just too hot to serve.

And so it was off to the shops with me to buy some regular boring old capsicums to make this dish with, although all the herbs for it and lemons came ou of my garden (phew).

Enough talk. Heres the recipe:

QUINOA AND GOATS CHEESE STUFFED CAPSICUMS

160g quinoa

600ml vege stock

handful fresh parsley

handful fresh mint

4 large capsicums cut in half and de-seeded (I used red and green but yellow is also nice!)

goats cheese (the best you can afford)

lemon cheeks to serve

METHOD

Bring your stock to the boil and then add your quinoa. Turn down to a gentle simmer and then cook for roughly 20 mins, until all the liquid is absorbed.

Cut your capsicums in half and lightly coat in olive oil. Place in a 180 degree celsius oven and start to cook until just softened (you do not want them to lose their shape or they will be hard to fill later but you do want them to have a head start before you fill them with the quinoa).

Let quinoa cool a little before adding your freshly chopped mint and parsley and stir. Remove peppers from the oven and fill with quinoa mixture. Dot the tops with goats cheese (as much as you enjoy) and then pop back in the oven for approx 15 mins to keep cooking.

Serve with a fresh garden salad and lemon cheeks (as I think this dish definitely needs a citrusy tang!

Cheers

quinoa stuffed capsicum quinoa stuffed capsicum2

 

Categories: Uncategorized

Tagged as: , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 replies »

Leave a Reply

Emma's Garden Grows

GROW, FIND, SWAP, SHARE, EAT.

Simple Provisions

Food does not need to be fancy to be celebrated

Grow, Find, Swap, Cook, Share, EAT!

C l e - a n n

Grow, Find, Swap, Cook, Share, EAT!

Sharing Abundance

Just another WordPress.com site

GourmetGirlfriend

Grow, Find, Swap, Cook, Share, EAT!

Foxs Lane

Grow, Find, Swap, Cook, Share, EAT!

The Greening of Gavin

Sustainable Living in the Suburbs

wholelarderlove

Grow, Find, Swap, Cook, Share, EAT!

Feral Fruit Trees Melbourne

Just another WordPress.com weblog

cityhippyfarmgirl

simple connected living, city style

italy on my mind

"in food there are memories"

Emma's Garden Grows

GROW, FIND, SWAP, SHARE, EAT.

Simple Provisions

Food does not need to be fancy to be celebrated

Grow, Find, Swap, Cook, Share, EAT!

C l e - a n n

Grow, Find, Swap, Cook, Share, EAT!

Sharing Abundance

Just another WordPress.com site

GourmetGirlfriend

Grow, Find, Swap, Cook, Share, EAT!

Foxs Lane

Grow, Find, Swap, Cook, Share, EAT!

The Greening of Gavin

Sustainable Living in the Suburbs

wholelarderlove

Grow, Find, Swap, Cook, Share, EAT!

Feral Fruit Trees Melbourne

Just another WordPress.com weblog

cityhippyfarmgirl

simple connected living, city style

italy on my mind

"in food there are memories"

